Sponsored Clinical Trial Research Committee

A Sponsored Clinical Trial Research is a form of clinical research that follows a pre-defined plan or protocol that directly involves a particular person or group of people or that uses materials from humans, such as sample of their tissue or their behaviour. JIPMER, being a medical institute, the research work conducted by the faculty, researchers and PG students, here involves patients and healthy human volunteers. Participants by taking part in clinical trials,  not only play a more active role in their own health care, but they can also access new treatments and help others by contributing to medical research.


The Sponsored Clinical Trial Research Committee takes care of all aspects of sponsored clinical trials and clinical research conducted in JIPMER. This is achieved by conducting regular meetings for reviewing the proposals submitted and to provide suggestions to the investigators. All proposals related to sponsored clinical trials must get the approval of the SCTRC.


The Sponsored clinical trial research committee was constituted on 07/11/2013 and the members of the committee are:

1 Dr. B.Vishnu Bhat Dean (Research) Chairperson
2 Dr. R.P. Swaminathan Professor & Head, Medicine Member
3 Dr. D.M. Thappa Faculty (Research) Member
4 Dr. Gautam Roy Professor, P&SM Member
5 Dr. Santhosh Satheesh Additional Professor & Head, Cardiology Member
6 Dr.S. Sandhiya Assistant Professor, Clinical Pharmacology Member
7 Mr. K.T. Harichandrakumar Assistant Professor, Biostatistics and Biometrics Member
8 Mr. M. Krishna Rao Law Officer Member
9 Dr. L.N. Dorairajan Professor & Head, Urology Member secretary