Institutional Ethics Committee (Human studies) for Intervention studies

After JIPMER becoming an “Institution of National Importance” there is a great increase in biomedical research and the number of research projects carried out. This involves a number of ethical issues which needs to be addressed. To facilitate the smooth functioning of the ethics committees, Institutional Ethics Committee (IEC) has been divided into three – IEC for Interventional Studies, IEC for Observational Studies and IEC for College of Nursing. The Institutional Ethics Committees of JIPMER play the vital role of guiding researchers in the ethical issues associated with their research.


The major responsibility of IECs is to protect the rights, safety and well-being of the research participants. The IECs conducts regular meetings for reviewing the research proposals and give suggestions to the investigators to make their research ethical before approving them. All research projects in humans should get the approval of any one of the IECs before starting their study.

Researchers are supposed to submit their research proposals at the following link address: The composition of the Institutional Ethics Committee (Human studies) for Intervention studies, JIPMER is as follows:

Sl. No. Name & Designation Nominated as Role
1 Dr. Anil Purthi,  Professor, Department of Preventive & Social Medicine, PIMS, Pondicherry Chairperson Chairperson (External)
2 Dr C. Suthakaran, Professor of Pharmacology, Saveetha Medical College & Hospital, Saveetha Nagar, Thandalam, Tamilnadu - 602105 Vice-Chairperson Vice-Chairperson (External)
3 Dr. Prasanth Ganesan,  Additional  Professor and HOD of Medical Oncology, JIPMER Member Clinician
4 Dr. Nonika Rajkumari, Additional  Professor of Microbiology, JIPMER Member Basic Medical Scientist
5 Dr. Chanaveerappa B, Professor, Medicine Member Clinician
6 Dr. Mansy M, Assistant Professor,  Department of Sociology, Pondicherry University, Pondicherry Member Social Scientist (External)
7 Dr. Krishna Kumari, Senior Technical Officer, VCRC, Puducherry Member Social Scientist (External)
8 Smt. Priya K, Assistant Professor, Chemical Engineering, Pondicherry Engineering College, Puducherry Member Lay Person (External)
9 Dr. Venkatachalam J, Additional Professor of Preventive & Social Medicine, JIPMER Member Basic Medical Scientist
10 Ms. Usha, Advocate, VOC Nagar, Puducherry Member Legal Expert (External)
11 Dr. Suma HY, Professor and HOD of Anatomy, JIPMER Alternate Member Secretary Basic Medical Scientist
12 Dr. Sandhiya S., Additional Professor, Department of Pharmacology, JIPMER Member-Secretary Basic Medical Scientist
research committe
S. No. Title Downloads Date
1 SOP for Institutional Ethics Committee (Human studies) for Intervention studies Download (8.23 MB) pdf 25/05/2019
3 National Guidelines For Stem Cell Research Download (7.13 MB) pdf
4 National Ethical Guidelines for Biomedical Research Involving Children Download (1.35 MB) pdf
6 ICMR policy on Research integrity and Publication ethics 2019 Download (1.17 MB) pdf
7 New Drugs and Clinical Trials Rules 2019 Download (2.4 MB) pdf
8 INFORMED CONSENT DOCUMENT Download (138.69 KB) pdf
9 CDSCO Reconstituted committee - Registration Certificate Download (606.08 KB) pdf