Innovation and Development Projects Review Committee (IDPRC)

The JIPMER Research Division initiated an additional intramural funding opportunity as innovation and development projects (IDP) in the year 2019 to encourage faculty member to enable and nurture technological and product developmental capabilities concerning healthcare system and modern teaching methods. Furthermore, IDP is not a usual research grant and is primarily supports innovative products and technologies addressing unmet needs.

Its members are as follows:

SL.NO Name of the Faculty Designation
1. Dr. Rakesh Aggarwal, Director, JIPMER Chairman
2. Dr. D.M. Thappa, Dean (Research), JIPMER Vice- Chairman
3. Dr. E. Lenin Babu, Professor, Anesthesiology Member
4. Dr. S. Dinesh Kumar, Professor of Plastic Surgery Member
5. Dr. P. Veena, Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology Member
6. Dr. V. Dinesh Kumar, Assistant Professor, Anatomy Member
7. Dr. Gladwin V, Additional Professor, Anatomy Member
8. Dr Arun Alexander, Professor, ENT Member
9. Dr. Balasubramaniyan Vairappan, Associate Dean, JIPMER Member Secretary


JIPMER has so far filed nine patent applications at Indian Patent Office, Chennai, till 2019  and all  the applications got published in the Indian Patent Office official journal. The patent applications were filed through the former consultant, Q intellect Knowledge Solutions, Chennai.  Presently the firm Altacit Global, Chennai has been deployed as consultant for filing patent applications and to follow up the processes therein for grant of patent.