General Info

The Department of Neurosurgery

The Neurosurgery services in JIPMER started in July 2006 with Dr. Roopesh Kumar and Dr. M.S.Gopalakrishnan as Assistant Professors. The Neurosurgery team initially functioned under the administrative control of the Department of General Surgery and it became a full fledged department in 2008. Dr. Hari and Dr. Shankar Ganesh subsequently joined as senior residents in the department. Dr. Shankar Ganesh and Dr.Venkatesh Madhugiri were appointed as Assistant Professors in 2009, and in 2010 respectively. Dr. Shankar Ganesh resigned and was relieved of his responsibilities in 2012 subsequently. Dr. A.S.Ramesh and Dr. A.Sathia Prabhu joined the department as Assistant Professors in 2013 January and September, respectively. Dr. Roopesh Kumar and Dr. Venkatesh resigned and were relieved from their duties in 2014 and in 2015 respectively. Dr. M.Manoranjitha Kumari Joined as an Assistant Professor in October 2018, and Dr. R.Gopikrishnan in February 2020. The department currently functions as a single unit. Over the years, we have acquired some of the most modern instruments, machines, and skillset to render high-quality and sophisticated treatment to our patients in a safe manner.

Last Updated :01-Nov-2022