General Info


      The JIPMER became autonomous body under the JIPMER Act 2008. The Department of Forensic Medicine which was run by in-charge Faculties from other Departments, had received Faculties and Residents at its own specialty thereafter in the last 10yr period, the department has evolved to a full-fledged functional department having 6 Faculty posts, 3 Senior Residents, 9 Junior Resident posts. Currently it provides Public, Judiciary and Clinicians the essential services like Medico-legal Autopsies, custodial death autopsies, expert opinions, bone examination, injury & weapon examination, sexual assault survivor & accused examination and age estimation. Teaching & academic sessions for undergraduate & postgraduate students is an essential part of curriculum.