General Info


The Department of Dermatology was established in 1960 by Dr. A. Velou, four years after JIPMER was taken over by the Government of India.  Since then, the department has steadily progressed, expanded, and diversified its activities to contribute to the advances in the understanding and treatment of various dermatologic diseases. The department has expanded since its inception and diversified its activities by establishing various services as follows:

  • 1964 Leprosy clinic
  • 1973 STD clinic
  • 1996 Dermatosurgery
  • 2009 Lasers and cosmetic dermatology
  • 2010 Pediatric Dermatology clinic
  • 2016 Subspecialty clinics
  • 2019 Epidermolysis Bullosa Clinic

The department aims at outstanding clinical service, research, and educational excellence. Good quality medical, surgical, and cosmetic treatment is provided to make a significant difference in the patient’s quality of life. Research activities both basic and clinical are being actively undertaken to contribute to the advancement of medical and scientific knowledge of the specialty. Postgraduate training is provided in a conducive environment with residents and faculty working closely together in the clinic as well as in other scholarly activities resulting in professional preparation of dermatologists dedicated to health care service and research. 

The Heads of the Department, over the years, have coordinated and facilitated all the departmental and inter-departmental activities. The following is the list of the heads of the Department of Dermatology since its inception:

  • 1960-1968 A. Velou - Founder of the department
  • 1968-1969 Sardari Lal
  • 1970-1972 B.M.S. Bedi
  • 1972-1973 B.R. Garg
  • 1973-1982 Sardari Lal
  • 1982-1996 B.R. Garg
  • 1996-2013 D.M. Thappa
  • 2013-2016 T.J. Jaisankar
  • 2016-2017 D.M. Thappa
  • 2017-2020 Laxmisha Chandrashekar
  • 2020-till present Rashmi Kumari

Last Updated: June 2022