General Info

Department of Cardio Thoracic and Vascular Surgery (CTVS)

History of the Department:

The CTVS department was initially started as Department of Thoracic surgery in 1966 by                  Dr. P.S. Narayanan, and subsequently  headed by Dr. S.B. Sen in 1974,   Dr. B.K. Gupta in 1976, Dr. K.S.V.K. Subbarao from 1978 to 2011, Dr. S.Jagdish (as interim HOD) from 2011 to 2013 and Dr. B.V. Sai Chandran from 2013 to 2020. The other foundational senior faculty members who contributed significantly for the department during its initial stages of  the growth and development include Dr. Amit Banerjee, Dr. Nachiappan & Dr. Muhammad Abid Geelani.

The department has been serving with wide spectrum of cases with cardiac, thoracic and vascular disorders requiring elective or emergency surgery from neonates to geriatric population and also chest trauma and vascular trauma. It also owns the credit of managing more complex and challenging cases including ECMO. Some of the highlights include creating a world surgical record of  successful  non-stop 24 hour marathon aortic operation in the year  2011. The first successful ECMO was achieved in the year 2016 to save a 2 month old infant of 1.75 kg following open heart surgery for complex birth malformations of the heart. An all India conference (Perteccon 2014) for perfusion technology was conducted in the year 2014.  

Postdoctoral course – MCh  in the field of Cardiothoracic & Vascular Surgery was started in the year 1992 and currently 3 seats are being  filled up every year for this course. The department has also served to conduct DNB examination for Cardiothoracic Surgery. Two of the MCh Students from this department won the gold medal in DNB examination for cardiothoracic surgery I the year 2010, BSc (Perfusion Technology) – a 4 year course was started and currently 5 seats per year are allotted for this course.

Important  Milestones:

1973:  First attempt of open heart surgery

1983:  First successful open heart surgery

1986:  First heart valve replacement operation;

           During the same year regular senior residents  were recruited for the department

1988:  First symposium (on ‘Bronchoscopy’)  was organized.

1990: It attained the privilege of conducting clinical trials for the implantation of the                      

          first indigenousy developed  prosthetic heart valve - TTK-Chitra   as one of the 6

          centers chosen across the country.

1992: Postdoctoral course – MCh  in the field of Cardiothoracic & Vascular Surgery was


2009 : First redo open heart surgery (For stuck mitral valve).

2010: Endovascular stent placement for Aortic dissection (in collaboration with


2011: Successful marathon– non-stop 24 hour aortic operation.  

2012: One of the most prestigious awards of Indian Association of Cardiovascular and

thoracic surgeons (IACTS), the Godrej Karai Oration Award was conferred to Prof. K.S.V.K. Subbarao for the year 2012 during the 58th Annual conference of and the First Joint workshop with European Association for Cardiothoracic Surgery (EACTS) for his lifetime contribution to the field of thoracic surgery.

2014: Perteccon 2014 – National conference on perfusion technology

2018:  First time - Tracheal stent placement, aortic stent placement combined with aortic

          operation (Hybrid procedure) for aortic aneurysm and dissection.  

2019: Robotic surgery was initiated in the department.

Last Updated :15-Sep-2022