General Info

The Department of Anaesthesiology and Critical Care

The Department of Anaesthesiology and critical care is one of the first departments started in JIPMER in 1954. Currently the department conducts various undergraduate, postgraduate and postdoctoral academic programs including MD, DM (cardiac anaesthesiology), DM (neuroanesthesiology), DM (critical care) and B Sc (Anesthesia technology).

Clinical services are provided in anaesthesia, procedural sedation, critical care and chronic pain management. Anaesthesia services for elective surgical procedures performed in Obstetrics & Gynaecology, General surgery, Orthopaedics, ENT, Ophthalmology, Maxillofacial surgery, Pediatric surgery, Urology, Neurosurgery, Plastic surgery, surgical oncology, Cardiothoracic and vascular surgery and Surgical gastroenterology is provided in 20 operating rooms in Main Hospital block, PMRC block, Superspeciality (SSB) block and Women and Children Hospital (WCH) block

Last Updated :11-Oct-2022