Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education & Research

Departmental Administration


The department of 'Cardiothoracic & Vascular Surgery' (CTVS)  was initially referred as the department of  'Thoracic Surgery' - and  remained as the oldest super-specialty department of this   institute.  It has the uniqueness of its capacity  in providing services in a broad spectrum inclusive of  the three wings - Cardiac surgery (Operating on heart) including open heart surgeries, Thoracic surgery (Operating on lungs, chest wall, diaphragm &  mediastinum) and Vascular surgery (Operating on blood vessels). Apart from the patient care services, the department  is also involved in academic activities to train and create new cardiothoracic-vascular surgeons and perfusionists and it also continues with the research activities.


The CTVS department was initially started as Department of Thoracic surgery in 1966 by Dr. P.S.Narayanan and  later headed by Dr. S.B.Sen in 1974 and by  Dr. B.K.Gupta in 1976. From 1978 to  May 2012,   Dr. K.S.V.K. Subbarao had been the head of this department. Other faculty members including Dr. Amit Banerjee,  Dr. Nachiappan and  Dr. Abid Jeelani  have also made marked contributions for the growth of the department in its formative period.        


               Though the first open heart operation was attempted in 1973, it was successfully performed in 1983. In 1986, the first valve replacement operation was done and in the same year regular Senior Residents were  recruited.

In 1988, a  symposium  was organized on Bronchoscopy.  In 1990, it attained the privilege of   conducting clinical trials for the implantation of TTK-Chitra – Prosthetic heart valve  as one among the six centers chosen across the country.

In 1992, the postdoctoral  course (MCh) in the field of Cardiothoracic &  Vascular  Surgery was started. The   department has also  served as a centre for conducting  the superspecialty  DNB Examination for Cardio-thoracic  Surgery.  The department  shifted its location to the new super specialty block (SSB)  in 2009 equipped with facilities of state-of-art technolgy. The undergraduate allied medical course in Perfusion Technology (BSc) was started in 2010.


The department has a 26 bedded ward  and  8 postoperative  ICU beds and 2 operation  rooms with state-of-art facilities.  Currently facilities available to perform only 5 cases per week with standby theater for emergencies making the operative annual statistics of about 300 cases.  Outpatient department runs for 2 days (tuesdays & thursdays)  a week attending to about 150 to 200 patients per day.  Apart from these about 10  emergency cases per day referred from various departments and emergency medical services (EMS)  are being treated amounting to about 3000  emergency referral cases per yearfor opinion and management.The entire outpatient and inpatient departments are furnished with centralized airconditioning system with active smoke-detectors / fire alrams installed.


  1.  MCh (Cardiothoracic & Vascular Surgery) - 3 year course -  4 seats per year

  2. BSc (Perfusion Technology) - 3 year course with 1 year optional internship - 4 seats per year.

    Apart from these two courses which are exclusively run by the CTVS department, this department also takes part as co-faciltator for the following courses:

    • BSc (Operation Theatre Technology)

    • Other BSc (Allied Medical sciences) - for training  in Basic Life Support (BLS)

    • Post Basic Diploma in Nursing (PBDN) in Cardiothoracic Nursing

    • Post Basic Diploma in Nursing (PBDN) in Operative Room Nursing

    • MSc (Nursing)

    • Medical Record Department Trainee



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>