Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education & Research

General Info

The department of Anaesthesiology and Critical Care was one of the first departments to be started when the institute was established as “Etudes de medicine” in 1956 by the French. The entire department consisted of two consultants and four operation theaters providing all anaesthesia and emergency services. When the institute was named JIPMER, the department was commissioned on the II floor of the main hospital and provided service to 6 operation theaters with six consultants. With time the services have expanded to include Super specialties, Emergency services with three operating tables, Acute and Chronic Pain services, and exclusive state of the art Critical Care Unit (CCU) with round the clock service. The department also takes care of the Central oxygen supply unit (Two liquid oxygen plants).The department has a sanctioned faculty of 22 consultants, 35 senior residents,

Following courses presently running by the department

A. Post graduation in Anaesthesiology was started with 2 MD and 4 DA seats in late 1970’s. Presently the annual intake(January-9 and July-9) is 18 postgraduate students (MD).

B. Postdoctoral fellowship(PDF) in Critical Care started from july 2012 with annual intake of 4 PDF/Years

C.Postdoctoral fellowship(PDF) in Cardiac & Neuroanaesthesiology  started from july 2012 with annual intake of 4 PDF/Years

D.BSC Anaesthesiology Technologist: Annual Intake 4 students per year

Faculty : information :http://jipmer.edu.in/departments/surgical/anaesthesiology-critical-care/facultystaff-anaesthesiology-critical-care/

                                                   Head of the Department

Year                                                                                            Head of the Department

2004-2013(june):                                                             Dr.Ashok Badhe (Prof. Sr. Scale)

2013(July)-2016(June):                                                    Dr. Pankaj Kundra(Prof. Sr. Scale)

2016(July)-2016(Dec):                                                      Dr. Ashok Badhe(Prof. Sr. Scale)

2017(Jan):                                                                          Dr. Sandeep Mishra Add. Professor


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>