Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education & Research

General Info


The Central Library, JIPMER was established in the year 1957 at the erstwhile Medical college Buildings at Puducherry. It was shifted to the Banting Hall, JIPMER in the Year 1964. The central Library was finally shifted to the present centrally Air conditioned building and continued functioning from January 12, 1973.

Eligible Users and Membership

Faculty, Students of JIPMER and other medical and para medical staff, retired faculty members, Students undertaking Project work in JIPMER upon collection of refundable caution Deposit. Short time permission to outsiders for few days for reference purpose is also considered at the discretion of the Officer in Charge.

Temporary Membership

Outsiders including Alumni of JIPMER studying in outside colleges are permitted to use the Library referencing facility with the approval of the Dean (Research), JIPMER and Chairman of the Library Committee. The Alumni are permitted to use the Library reference facility upon payment of non refundable user fee of Rs 50 /- per day for the period    granted by the Chairman, Library Committee as per his discretion. They will be given a temporary pass to use the Central Library facilities.

Timings & Holidays

The Working Hours of the Central Library is from 9AM to 10 PM in two shifts on all days including Sundays. The Library is closed on National holidays and eight festival holidays in a year.

Staff Pattern

Assistant Library and Information Officer     1 no.
Library Clerks    6 nos.
Library Attendants    3 nos.
Peon    1 no.

The functioning of the Central Library is guided by Dr. Vishnu Bhat, Professor and HOD of Neonatology & Dean (Research) JIPMER under the supervision of Faculty In-Charge of Central Library,  Dr. Jharna Mandal, Additional Professor, Dept. of Microbiology JIPMER.



Position in Committee

Dr. B. Vishnu Bhat,Dean (Research)


Dr. Renuka Srinivasan,Prof. (Sr. Scale) of Ophthalmology


Dr. Pampa Ch. Toi,Additional Professor of Pathology


Dr. T. Kadhiravan,Additional Professor of Medicine


Dr. B.V. Sai Chandran,Additional Professor of CTVS


Dr. Jharna Mandal,Additional Professor of Microbiology

Faculty In Charge

Smt. M. J. Kumari,Vice Principal, College of Nursing


Officer-Incharge, Purchase Section


Accounts Officer


Mrs. Kalyani Sathiyakumar,Asst. Library & Information Officer


Dr. Rajesh. N.G.Associate Dean (Research)

Member Secretary